The Investigator of the Year Award and the Hudgins-Sallee Award


The Hudgins-Sallee Award was first established by TALI on October 27, 1995. This is the most distinguished, honorable and noble award that can be presented to a Member of TALI by their peers. This award was established in remembrance of two outstanding deceased TALI members — Virginia Hudgins and David Sallee. Virginia and David passed away within one month of each other in 1995. They both devoted over 20 years of their lives to TALI and both were Honorary Lifetime Members for their years of dedication, service and devotion to TALI. They both served on the TALI Board of Directors and numerous committees. 

TALI is what it is today because of the efforts, devotion and contributions made by members like Virginia and David. Therefore, the Hudgins-Sallee Award was established in their memory to exemplify the high moral and ethical standards by which a professional licensed private investigator adheres to in his/her services to the Texas Association of Licensed Investigators. The title was changed to the Investigator of the Year Award in 2017.

Past recipients of the prestigious Investigator of the Year Award are:
2020 Ron Potts
2019 Randy Kildow, TBCI
2018 Peggy Walla
2017 Mark W. Stephens


Past recipients of the prestigious Hudgins-Sallee Award are:

2016  Wes Bearden, TCI
2015  Ed Martin, TCI, CFE
2014 John Feighery, TCI
2013 Kelly Riddle, TCI
2012 Randy Kildow, TCI

2011 Macklyn Smith, TCI

2010 James Bearden, TCI

2009 Paul Hulsey, TCI

2008 Brad Bacom, TCI

2007 Rob Smith, TCI

2006 Brack Warren

2005 George Cervantes, CLI, CII

2004 Carol Tharp, TCI

2003 Karen Hewitt, TCI

2002 Rob Smith, TCI
2001 Ken DeFoor
2000 Patti James, CLI, TCI
1999 Edie Lee, TCI
1998 John Chism
1997 Naomi Wilson
1996 Brian Tynes
Past recipients of the John Chism Award are:
2016 Robert Allen